Disappears – Low: Live in Chicago (MDR005)

Disappears – ‘Low: Live in Chicago’ cassette tape



1. Speed Of Life
2. Breaking Glass
3. What In The World
4. Sound And Vision
5. Always Crashing In The Same Car
6. Be My Wife
7. A New Career In A New Town


1. Warszawa
2. Art Decade
3. Weeping Wall
4. Subteranneans


(Limited edition black cassette tape, black and white inlay printed on 160 g paper with a translucent 90 g  orange print cover and download code)

Beyond happy to be teaming up with Sonic Cathedral in releasing a live album by one of our favourite bands, Disappears, on November 20th. This is not just a live album, it’s a recording of them performing David Bowie’s classic 1977 album ‘Low’ in its entirety at the Museum of Contemporary Art of Chicago, mastered by legend Sonic Boom.

The band ran through the album twice on November 22nd 2014 as part of a concert series entitled Bowie Changes, which featured several Chicago-based musicians reinterpreting the Bowie catalogue to mark the opening of the ‘David Bowie Is’ exhibition at the city’s Museum of Contemporary Art. “Naturally we chose the hardest one,” jokes guitarist/singer Brian Case.

They succeed by being faithful to the original, while turning it into something that sounds very much like a Disappears record. The seven regular songs on the first side are buzzing and muscular, injected with steroids by the ferocious rhythm section of Noah Leger (drums) and Damon Carruesco (bass). However, it is the more avant-garde songs on the B-side that are the revelation. Stripped of Eno’s EMS Synthi AKS and Minimoogs, ‘Warszawa’ becomes an intense battleground between Brian and Jonathan van Herik’s treated guitars, ‘Subterraneans’ swaps saxophones for Rother-esque kosmiche curlicues and ‘Weeping Wall’ builds to an appropriate and fearsome (Berlin) wall of noise. It’s stunning.

We will be putting out a limited edition black cassette tape with black and white inlay printed on 160 g paper with a translucent 90 g orange print cover and download code. Not bad, eh?

The beautiful LP version will be available via Sonic Cathedral.

disappears tape